Assayer of Student Opinion.

The Prospector

Assayer of Student Opinion.

The Prospector

Assayer of Student Opinion.

The Prospector

Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required
Prospector Poll

Whataburger or In-N-Out

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

SGA announces special election results

Illustration by Anahy Diaz
UTEP’s Student Government Association (SGA) has released its special election results Tuesday, Feb. 16 following over a week of campaigning.

UTEP’s Student Government Association (SGA) released its 2021 special Spring election results Tuesday evening.   

The senator-at-large vacant seats will be filled by Joseline “Josie” Avila with 130 votes, Kimberly Sanchez with 109 votes, Brianna Iberty Trevino with 106 votes and Marlenne Prieto with 83 votes.  

Avila, a sophomore majoring in communication studies, originally received 145 votes but was penalized for violating section 8.10 and 8.15 of SGA’S Election Code.  

According to election commissioner Katya Compian, Avila’s campaign video showcased UTEP’s pick on the side of the highway and featured scenes of her in the interior of the library where campaigning is strictly prohibited.  

The SGA’S election commission unanimously decided to sanction Avila with a deduction of 10% of her votes. 7% for the violation of section 8.10 and 3% for the violation of Section 8.15, which resulted in a loss of 15 votes, totaling 130 votes for Avila. 

Avila and the rest were followed closely by Alejandro Prieto with 80 votes and Jocelyn Carrera with 78 votes.  

Lya Bejarano, a junior majoring in engineering education and leadership won the race for senator collegiate of engineering with 43 votes, with Ryan Cruz behind with 25 votes, followed closely by Tristan Angel Hernandez with 15 votes and Brandon Jess with 14 votes. 

Philosophy major, Kimberly Zubiate, won the race for senator collegiate of liberal arts with 64 votes, defeating Jackie Aguilar and Emilia Tapia who garnered 50 and 31 votes respectively.  The senator collegiate of health sciences position will be filled by Jose Lechuga, who won his unopposed seat with 31 votes.  

According to SGA, 801 total ballots were cast in the election. 


 [table id=16 /] 

Senator Collegiate – Engineering 

[table id=17 /] 

Senator Collegiate – Health Sciences 

[table id=18 /] 

Senator Collegiate – Liberal Arts 

[table id=19 /] 

Anahy Diaz may be reached at [email protected]

Leave a Comment
About the Contributor
Anahy Diaz
Anahy Diaz, is a bilingual Multimedia Journalism, Political Science and Chicano Studies student at The University of Texas at El Paso. She has helped lead The Prospector, as editor-in-chief, copy editor and multimedia editor by writing and creating news packages. Anahy currently works as an intern for NBC News Los Angeles, and has previously interned with NBC’s Today and Weekend Today. Anahy’s published work can also be seen in Borderzine, KERA News, KTEP, KTSM Channel 9 and KVIA Channel 7. As a first-generation college student, Anahy hopes to join the field of broadcast after graduation covering news, politics, and entertainment.
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All The Prospector Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Activate Search
SGA announces special election results