Assayer of Student Opinion.

The Prospector

Assayer of Student Opinion.

The Prospector

Assayer of Student Opinion.

The Prospector

Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required
Prospector Poll

Are you going to be surfing the web or the waves this summer?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Top 10 upcoming albums to look forward to this summer

Special to The Prospector
Panic! at the Disco will release their sixth album on June 22.

Summer time is perfect for relaxing and chilling out by the pool. However, it’s also a perfect time to enjoy brand new music. Here are 10 albums that you need to look out for this summer.

“Almost Everyday” by Matt and Kim – May 4

The indie electronic band Matt and Kim is made up of Matt Johnson and Kim Schifino. “Almost Everyday” is the sixth full-length album that Johnson and Schifino will release, following their last album “New Glow,” which came out in 2015. They surprised fans by releasing an EP titled “WE WERE THE WERIDOS” in 2016. The indie electronic band is known for their popular 2009 song, “Daylight.” Johnson recently told the Boston Globe that the duo wrote “Almost Everyday” during a small hiatus, when Schifino tore her ACL on stage in 2017. Johnson went on to say that their hiatus made him realize what life could be like without touring and playing music. “I’m excited for the world to hear these songs, and I think they came from a really inspired place,” he said. The band has released four singles from the new album, including “Forever,” and more recently, “Glad I Tried.”

“7” by Beach House – May 11

Indie band Beach House will release “7,” coincidently also their seventh album, on May 11. The band’s last album, “B-Sides and Rarities,” was released in 2016. It was made up of unreleased music and covers, hence the title. Before that, they released a pair of records in 2015, “Depression Cherry” and “Thank Your Lucky Stars.” Their first single off the album, “Lemon Glow,” set a different dark tone for the band. The band told Pitchfork that their upcoming album revolves around the idea that there’s beauty in terror. “You don’t get to control how much darkness or light exists in the universe, they’re inherently part of the fabric of everything. But we all need art and dancing and joy,” said lead vocalist Victoria Legrand. El Pasoans can catch them at Tricky Falls on May 8.

“Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino” by Arctic Monkeys – May 11

It’s been five years since Arctic Monkeys released their fifth album, “AM,” and songs such as “Do I Wanna Know?” and “Why’d You Only Call Me When You’re High?” Almost one year ago, several pictures of the band working on new music surfaced on Instagram. The band put out a short teaser trailer on their YouTube channel back in April releasing the title of their sixth album, “Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino.” The alternative rock band is currently on a sold-out tour that extends all the way until October.  You can pre-order their album on any online music website.    

“Love is Dead” by Chvrches – May 25

In many cases, especially politically, 2017 was anything but rainbows and butterflies and Scottish synth-pop band Chrvches took notice. Lead vocalist Lauren Mayberry told Pitchfork that this album is very personal and honest. “The whole record isn’t completely depressing—it’s more about sitting with certain kinds of melancholy and wondering what you do about that. It’s about frustration, but figuring out a way to be able to feel like that and move on,” she said.  The band has released several singles, including “Get Out” and “My Enemy,” which features The National frontman Matt Berninger, and “Miracle.” This is the band’s third album.

“Vibras” by J Balvin- May 25

Colombian reggaeton singer J Balvin is quickly gaining popularity all over the world. His biggest hit “Mi Gente,” with Willy William and Beyonce peaked at number three on the Billboard charts. He’s also featured on many hit songs including Cardi B’s track, “I Like It,” and former One Direction member Liam Payne’s song “Familiar.” His newest album “Vibras” will feature songs “Ahora” and “Ambiente.” He recently announced a teaser to a song for the 2018 FIFA World Cup called “Positivo.” J Balvin is coming to the Don Haskins Center on Sunday, Sept. 30. Tickets are on sale at all Ticketmaster locations. 

“F.A.M.E” by Maluma- May (TBA)

Another popular reggaeton artist on the rise is 23-year-old Maluma. His newest album “F.A.M.E” is expected to be released this May. No release date has been announced. “F.A.M.E” stands for Faith, Alma (Soul), Music and Essence. Maluma told Billboard at the 2018 Billboard Latin Music Week event that his new album is very diverse, especially in sound. He also revealed that singer, rapper and producer Timbaland produced one of his favorite songs on the album. His worldwide tour stopped in El Paso on April 20.

Untitled by Kanye West – June 1

After a controversial week of statements on Twitter, Kanye West’s upcoming album is probably the most anticipated album of the summer, for better or for worse. On April 19, Kanye tweeted “my album is 7 songs,” followed by a release date of June 1. On April 27, he released “Lift Yourself” after being trolled on the internet. “Ye vs. The People,” which features rapper T.I. as “the people” was released shortly afterward. Kanye opens the song with, “I know Obama was Heaven-sent. But ever since Trump won, it proved that I could be President,” hinting at a presidential campaign once again. Kanye also tweeted on April 28 that the mug shot of the surgeon who performed plastic surgery on his mother a day before her death will be the album cover for his untitled record. Kanye is also producing several other albums that will be released after this album, including one with Nas, Pusha T and a duo album with Kid Cudi.

“Lost And Found” by Jorja Smith – June 8

The 20-year-old British singer Jorja Smith is set to release her debut album, “Lost And Found,” this June just before her 21st birthday. She’s collaborated with Drake on “Get it Together,” Kendrick Lamar and Kali Uchis to name a few. The R&B singer’s soothing, yet soulful voice is a mix between FKA Twigs, Lauryn Hill and even Amy Winehouse. Several songs including “Where Did I Go?” and her first single “Blue Lights” are expected to be on the tracklist. Her album is now available for pre-order.

“Pray For The Wicked” by Panic! At The Disco – June 22

After a brief hiatus, which included a role on Broadway for lead singer Brendon Urie, Panic! At The Disco will release their sixth album on June 22. The rock band gave fans a preview to their album when they released two singles “Say Amen (Saturday Night)” and “(F*** A) Silver Lining.” Urie said most of the album was written after moving back to LA following his time on Broadway. “‘Pray For The Wicked’ is my thank you to our fans and the most fun I’ve ever had making album,” he said in a press release. The band also announced they will go on an arena tour this summer beginning in July.

“Scorpion” by Drake- June (TBA)

“Scorpion” will technically be Drake’s first full-length album since “Views,” which was released in 2016. In 2017, Drake released “More Life” in the form of a playlist. The rapper made the announcement on Instagram posing in a black leather jacket with the title and release date on the back. The announcement comes after the releasing his newest singles, “Nice for What” and “God’s Plan,” which both peaked at No. 1 on the Billboard charts. An official release date for the record has not yet been announced.

Brianna Chavez may be reached at [email protected].

Leave a Comment
About the Contributor
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All The Prospector Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Activate Search
Top 10 upcoming albums to look forward to this summer